The Animals of Farthing Wood

The Animals of Farthing Wood is a series of books, and later a TV series, created by Colin Dann. It is a story about a group of animals who are forced to leave their homes after humans started destroying the wood in order to build houses.

The Animals of Farthing Wood by Colin Dann. Image via Penguin Books

In the story, a toad is captured by people and as he travelled to return to the wood he brings back knowledge of a nature reserve, White Deer Park, where the animals can be safe.

The animals take an Oath of Mutual Protection, to not follow their natural predator/prey instincts in order to work together to get to the nature reserve. This meant that all the woodland animals, from mice to the fox, would help each other without threat.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s